Linkbar

Pegasus is a family-owned used and new bookstore in West Seattle, under its current ownership since 1983. We have large selections of mystery, science fiction/fantasy/horror, literature/classics, romance, graphic novels, children's, young adult, art, poetry, history, gardening, crafts, religion, spirituality, psychology, philosophy, cookbooks, health, travel and tons of other things!


Follow us on Instagram or Facebook to see what we're getting up to!

Tuesday, August 6, 2013

What to read after you've read George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series

This is one of our most frequently asked questions. Usually we just wing it based on what we have on stock, but it seemed like it was time to make a list of our go-to books.

In all honestly, there really is nothing exactly like Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series. (It's also called the Game of Thrones series after the first book and the HBO series, which airs under that name). He is the premier writer of dark, realistic fantasy. So don't expect any of these to be the same as his books. But they are all well-written fantasy series for adult readers

Neither I nor my coworkers have read everything on here, but I've read enough first chapters to assure myself that the writing is good, and pruned through enough reviews to have a reasonably good sense that they are all well-liked by most readers (4 to 5 stars on Amazon, and good reviews from my customers). That's why there are a couple of big-name authors whose books you will not find on this list. If there are 10+ books in a series but they start to stink after book six...who needs that? There's too much other fabulous stuff out there.

In alphabetical order by author's name.

Joe Abercrombie. First Law trilogy: The Blade Itself; Before They Are Hanged; Last Argument Of Kings

R. Scott Bakker. Prince of Nothing trilogy: The Darkness That Comes Before; The Warrior-Prophet; The Thousandfold Thought.

Anne Bishop. Black Jewels series: Daughter of the Blood; Heir to the Shadows; Queen of the Darkness; The Invisible Ring; Dreams Made Flesh; Tangled Webs; The Shadow Queen; Shalador's Lady; Twilight's Dawn.

Lois McMaster Bujold. Curse of Chalion series: The Curse of Chalion, Paladin of Souls, The Hallowed Hunt.

Lois McMaster Bujold. Sharing Knife series: Beguilement; Legacy; Passage; Horizon.

Jim Butcher. Codex Alera series: Furies of Calderon; Academ's Fury; Cursor's Fury; Captain's Fury; Princeps' Fury; First Lord's Fury.

Jacqueline Carey. Kushiel's Legacy series: Kushiel's Dart; Kushiel's Chosen; Kushiel's Avatar; Kushiel's Scion; Kushiel's Justice; Kushiel's Mercy; Naamah's Kiss; Naamah's Curse; Naamah's Blessing.

Glenn Cook. Black Company series: The Black Company; Shadows Linger; The White Rose; The Silver Spike.

Diane Duane. Tales of the Five: The Door into Fire; The Door into Shadow; The Door into Sunset.

David Anthony Durham. Acacia Trilogy: Acacia; The Other Lands; The Sacred Band.

Steven Erikson. Malazan Book of the Fallen series: Gardens of the Moon; Deadhouse Gates; Memories of Ice; House of Chains; Midnight Tides; The Bonehunters; Reaper's Gale; Toll the Hounds; Dust of Dreams; The Crippled God.

C. S. Friedman. Coldfire trilogy: Black Sun Rising; When True Night Falls; Crown of Shadows.

C. S. Friedman. Magister trilogy: Feast of Souls; The Wings of Wrath; Legacy of Kings.

Barbara Hambly. Darwath series. The Time of the Dark; The Walls of Air; The Armies of Daylight; Mother of Winter; Icefalcon's Quest

Barbara Hambly. Unschooled Wizard series. The Ladies of Mandrigyn; The Witches of Wenshar; The Dark Hand of Magic.

Robin Hobb. Farseer trilogy: Assassin's Apprentice; Royal Assassin; Assassin's Quest.

Robin Hobb. Liveship Traders trilogy: Ship of Magic; The Mad Ship; Ship of Destiny.

Robin Hobb. Tawny Man trilogy: Fool's Errand; The Golden Fool; Fool's Fate.

N. K. Jemisin. Inheritance trilogy: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms; The Broken Kingdoms; The Kingdom of Gods.

Guy Gavriel Kay. Two stand-alones: The Lions of Al-Rassan and Tigana.

Stephen King. The Dark Tower series: The Gunslinger; The Drawing of the Three; The Waste Lands; Wizard and Glass; Wolves of the Calla; Song of Susannah; The Dark Tower; The Wind Through the Keyhole.

Scott Lynch. Gentleman Bastard series. The Lies of Locke Lamora; Red Seas Under Red Skies; The Republic of Thieves.

Naomi Novik. Temeraire series: Temeraire (aka His Majesty's Dragon); The Throne of Jade; Black Powder War; Empire of Ivory; Victory of Eagles; Tongues of Serpents; Crucible of Gold; Blood of Tyrants.

Patrick Rothfuss. Kingkiller Chronicles. The Name of the Wind; The Wise Man's Fear.

Brandon Sanderson. Mistborn series: The Final Empire; The Well of Ascension; The Hero of Ages; The Alloy of Law.

Matthew Stover. Overworld series: Heroes Die; Blade of Tyshall.

Judith Tarr. Avaryan Rising series: The Hall of the Mountain King; The Lady of Han-Gilen; A Fall of Princes; Arrows of the Sun; Spear of Heaven; Tides of Darkness.

J. R. R. Tolkien. Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Fellowship of the Ring; The Two Towers; The Return of the King.

Brent Weeks. Night Angel trilogy: The Way of Shadows; Shadow's Edge; Beyond the Shadows.

Tad Williams. Memory, Sorrow and Thorn trilogy: The Dragonbone Chair; The Stone of Farewell; To Green Angel Tower (which is published in two volumes as Part 1 and Part 2).

Gene Wolfe. Urth: Book of the New Sun series. The Shadow of the Torturer; The Claw of the Conciliator; The Sword of the Lictor; The Citadel of the Autarch; The Urth of the New Sun.


A nice reference describing some of these works is io9's article 10 Great Fantasy Series to Read While You’re Waiting for George R.R. Martin’s Next Book.

17 comments:

  1. Please also consider L. Sprague de Camp's fantasies, such as The Fallible Fiend, The Reluctant King triology and The Incompleat Enchanter series. A contemporary and drinking buddy of Asimov and Heinlein, his protagonists tend to be reasonable men (...or reasonable fiends...) in an unreasonable world, addressing assassins and wizards with logic and swordplay, less concerned with defeating The Big Bad than with keeping one's blood (...or ichor...) inside one's body. It's lighthearted.

    ReplyDelete
  2. hello!,I like your writing so much! percentage we be in contact more about your post on AOL? I require a specialist on this area to solve my problem. Maybe that's you! Taking a look ahead to see you.
    Click on Servers Valley for the best hosting service in UK & all around the world.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Such a great post its give me good idea for reading and tell us how to main-tan reading schedule for school thanks for share it biology personal statement .

    ReplyDelete
  4. it's really cool blog. Linking is very useful thing.you have really helped
    What is ascension

    ReplyDelete
  5. This book is so fantastic and I think filmmaker also make the good film on this book. This is only the book about superior papers which I read and feel so happy. This is the book which is so fascinating and full of the interesting information.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am launching a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business. Gujarat Ration Card Download

    ReplyDelete
  7. Fantastic post, very much useful information. I found your blog a few days ago from Google and have been reading it over the past few days.
    Escorts Services in Delhi

    ReplyDelete
  8. a pride for me to be able to discuss on a quality website because I just learned to make an article on
    cara menggugurkan kandungan

    ReplyDelete
  9. I just couldn't leave your website before telling you that I truly enjoyed the top quality info you present to your visitors? Will be back again frequently to check up on new posts. psd to responsive html

    ReplyDelete
  10. Your post is very interesting for see, I am personally very fond with your handwriting on this page.
    Beautiful Escorts Available in Gurgaon
    Independent Aerocity Escorts Services

    ReplyDelete
  11. Sapna Rawat the real and genuine independent Connaught Place Escorts Service available 24/7 days. Call or WhatsApp @9873940964 for Call Girls, high profile escort girl.

    nehru place Escorts $$$$
    mahipalpur Escorts $$$$
    vasant kunj Escorts $$$$
    lajpat nagar Escorts $$$$
    pitampura Escorts $$$$
    laxmi nagar escorts Escorts $$$$

    ReplyDelete
  12. Is your outing to Gurgaon Call Girl on the card and would you say you fear forlornness that you may understanding in the wake of returning to inn in the wake of tiring day in office

    gurgaon escorts
    gurgaon call girls
    faridabad escorts
    mukherjee nagar escorts
    noida escorts
    call girls in faridabad
    jodhpur escorts
    vasant vihar escorts

    ReplyDelete
  13. Hi friends ! I'm Archana Kumari. I like to have bed relationship with different persons rather than with a single man for the whole of life. I do it for enjoyment. If you are interested in me then,
    Please follow me on the links given bellow.
    Thanks.

    Escorts Services in Kolkata
    Escorts service in Mumbai
    Mumbai Escorts

    Mumbai Call girl
    Jaipur Escorts
    Escorts Services in Jaipur

    ReplyDelete
  14. I'm shakshi.I am working in India top most Escort serviceMumbai escorts.If

    u want to join the all facility of escortsPuri escorts
    pls call me & whatssapCuttack escorts
    visit the sites.Bhubaneswar escorts or follow me.jaipur Escorts

    ReplyDelete